Tractor trailer graphic
  • Project Title:
  • Postal Vehicle Service Zero Base Reviews
  • Start Date:
  • Monday, February 4, 2019
  • Estimated Report Release Date:
  • August 2019

The Postal Service has one of the largest transportation and logistics networks in the world, transporting mail and equipment between processing and distribution centers (P&DCs), post offices, or other designated points that receive or dispatch mail. The Postal Service is also one of the largest consumers of fuel in the United States.

The Postal Vehicle Service (PVS) Zero Base initiative is one way the Postal Service is evaluating, right-sizing, and equipping the transportation network to increase operating efficiency, reduce costs, and improve reliability. As part of the initiative, PVS Zero Base reviews are conducted annually at the P&DCs with PVS operations. During a Zero Base review, management examines staffing, scheduling, and vehicle usage to improve transportation efficiency. 

  • What are the challenges, efficiencies and deficiencies of the PVS Zero Base reviews, and what improvements can be made?
  • How can the Postal Service ensure that cost savings are realized by the PVS Zero Base initiative? 
     

Comments (7)

We welcome your comments related to the topic on this page. Complaints about the Postal Service, including lost, stolen or mishandled mail, that are unrelated to the content on this page, will not be posted. Please visit the Contact Us page for information on where to file formal complaints with our agency or the Postal Service.

Leave a comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.
  • anon

    Lisa, thank you for your comment regarding PVS Zero Base reviews. You make an interesting point of how Zero Base reviews are conducted. Would you or anyone else like to elaborate on the difference between how they are being done currently compared to the past?

    Mar 05, 2019
  • anon

    Zero Based Reviews are no longer being performed in the field as they were in the past. How is this a sufficient basis for reviewing the sight? If no one is permitted to travel to the sight to perform an on sight review to save costs there will not be accurate data obtained from these reviews. Desktop audits are inefficient. I have performed hundreds of these, I guarantee you the way this has changed over the years you are loosing the value in the reviews.

    Feb 28, 2019
  • anon

    Does the USPS buy fuel on the worldwide wholesale fuel market? Or do you buy fuel as filling stations like the rest of us?

    Feb 26, 2019
  • anon

    I have been an HCR Contractor for 22 years. The biggest waste of money I see where the USPS is concerned is in the PVS drivers. Some of them sleep for hours (on the clock) after they have been assigned a truck for the day. Apparently they are waiting for a load to pull, but at multiple facilities, I see the red, white and blue parked and sleeping hours at the time. For us in HCR, the miles and hours have been trimmed to bare bones and we can barely meet our schedule times as they are set forth by the SOW- and low and behold, you pray that there is not an accident that detains the driver.Another issue is the communication level. We as Suppliers are required to have open communication when Postal needs to reach us, but when we have issues and questions, sometimes it takes months to get answers or results!

    Feb 19, 2019
  • anon

    I have been a PVS driver for over 20 years, the biggest waste is the HCR drivers. I see HCR drivers sleep on side of the road because they are given ample time to get from point a to b. When a PVS driver may have loaded and unloaded 7 to 8 loads, picking up equipment for contract facilities and who knows what else. The Dallas district had over 1600 extra trips in a 30 day period including taking mail that contractors are being paid to haul.

    Feb 22, 2019
  • anon

    Laurie, thank you for comment associated with Highway Contract Route contracting requirements. Our Postal Vehicle Service audit project is looking at the challenges, efficiencies and deficiencies of the PVS Zero Base reviews. Please let us know what improvements should be made to the Zero-Base processes?

    Feb 19, 2019
  • anon

    as a HCR, there are routes out there that require 120 cu vehicle for 54 boxes. vehicle has to be 5 yrs or newer. costs get out of hand. these routes will never need 120 cu, should be more flexibility

    Feb 12, 2019

Recent Comments

Share this post